Job opportunities

1.jpg exec-slide4.jpg 3.jpg

member opportunities

Inshore Fisheries & Conservation Authorities

About us

Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authorities (IFCA) are responsible for sustainably managing sea fisheries within six nautical miles from shore. There are 10 IFCAs in England, each of whom has the power to make byelaws to protect resources and the environment in their area as well enforcing national and European fisheries legislation.

Each IFCA is tasked with sustainably managing inshore sea fishery resources in their local area. Each Authority is made up of representatives from local councils, individuals with specialist knowledge of the local inshore marine area including commercial and recreational fishermen, environmental groups and marine researchers. The Marine Management Organisation, Environment Agency and Natural England each have a statutory seat on the IFCA. Each IFCA is locally managed and helps local councils, communities, businesses and individuals to play a bigger role in the protection and enhancement of their inshore marine area.

Information on the Marine Management Organisation can be accessed here

More information on the IFCAs can be found at the Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authorities website


The Ten Regional IFCAs are below. Their main offices are in parentheses when relevant:

  • Cornwall (Penzance)
  • Devon & Severn (Brixham)
  • Eastern (Kings Lynn)
  • Isles of Scilly
  • Kent & Essex (Ramsgate)
  • North Eastern (Bridlington)
  • North Western (Carnworth)
  • Northumberland (Blyth)
  • Southern (Poole)
  • Sussex (Shoreham-by-Sea)